The Pre AGM Race and the AGM 2014

Sunday 7th December was the Sailing Club AGM but prior to that was a Pre AGM race. I was assisting Mike Harris as duty officer and I managed to get a few pictures before my camera dropped into a puddle in the bottom of the safety boat. (Sorry Tim, didn’t manage to get a picture of you. You were obviously sailing too fast for me!) Unfortunately, even after drying out, the camera doesn’t seem to work anymore !

A few braved the conditions for the race. Mike Brain tested the conditions but thought better of it and didn’t actually get to the start line (a wise man). Starting the race were, Commodore Rob, Captain Tom, Beachmaster Hught, Matt and Carol in the Vision and Tim, (crewless) sailing his Laser 13 single handed. It was quite gusty in places which caught a few out. Tim, Hugh and Tom all capsized at least once during the race.

Rob won, but I think everyone let him win as he was Commodore and it was AGM day !

The bring and share buffet was in full swing by 1 o’clock with the traditional mulled wine courtesy of the Ian and Felicity. Lots of very tasty snacks provided by the attendees.

I won’t go into details of the AGM as the Minutes have been circulated but here are the highlights.

Commodore Rob  commented on 2014 at the Club
Treasurer Clare told us what the money situation was.
Captain Tom told us who has won what, see list below.

New officers elected. Treasurer John Styles, Vice Commodore Matt Gilbert, Vice Captain Helen Smith, Committee Members Carol Clinton and Tim Rouse.

Award Winners 2014

Commodore’s Trophy  Steve Locke
Snowflake Series  1. Nick Blore  2. Miles Thomas  3. Mike Brain
Christmas Cracker 2013 Nick Blore
Spring Series  1. Martin Cushing  2. Mike Harris  3. Tom Harris
Early Bird Series 1. Mike Brain  2. Mike Harris 3. Pete Williams
Thursday Series  1.  Hugh Farrington 2.  Mike Brain  3. Pete Williams
Summer Series 1. Hugh Farrington 2.  Mike Brain   3. Pete Williams
Autumn Series 1. Hugh Farrington 2.  Mike Harris 3. Tom Harris
Will O’the Wisp trophy (Best Double Hander) Paul Bullock
Handicap Trophy Richard Mansfield
Theo Dodd Trophy (2 handed boat sailed single handed) John Beasley
Senior Sailor Hugh Farrington
Solo Trophy Hugh Farrington
Laser Trophy Mike Harris
Ladies Trophy Helen Smith
Junior Trophy Tommy Pickles
Lillishall Trophy (Most improved over the season) Carol Clinton
Swimming Trophy  Tim Rouse
Old Crocks Pot  John Clarke
Spirit of Sailing Trophy  Pete Williams
Masters Trophy Hugh Farrington

Posted in News